Back to Blog
Competitive Exams 18 min read28 October 2026

COMEDK 2027 — Pattern, Colleges, Fees and Is It Worth It

COMEDK UGET 2027 guide: 180 questions, no negative marking, 2026 closing ranks for RVCE and BMSCE, fees up to Rs 3.22 lakh a year and a worth-it check.

In short: COMEDK has not announced UGET 2027 as of October 28, 2026. The 2026 exam was held on May 9 and the 2026 brochure was notified on February 3, so a February 2027 notification and a May 2027 exam are likely, not confirmed. The paper has 180 questions in 180 minutes, one mark each, with no negative marking. In 2026, the Round 4 closing rank for Computer Science was 510 at RV College of Engineering and 4,328 at BMS College of Engineering. Fees are the real catch: the 2026 totals reach Rs 3,22,000 a year, which I calculated to be Rs 12,88,000 over four years at the top colleges.

Last updated: October 28, 2026. Dates, eligibility and the syllabus will be updated when COMEDK publishes the 2027 brochure.

COMEDK UGET 2027 — Quick Reference

ParameterDetails
Conducted byConsortium of Medical, Engineering and Dental Colleges of Karnataka (COMEDK)
Official sitecomedk.org
ModeComputer-based test, in English
Duration3 hours
Questions180 MCQs: 60 each in Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics
Marking+1 for each correct answer, no negative marking
2026 exam dateMay 9, 2026
2026 resultMay 29, 2026
2027 notificationNot announced. The 2026 brochure was notified on February 3, 2026
2027 examNot announced. Careers360 expects May 2027

Sources: Careers360 for the pattern and the "to be announced" dates, and Shiksha for the February form expectation, as shown in its search summary.

Beware of fraud

Counselling, fee payment and seat allotment run through comedk.org. Do not pay anyone who promises a COMEDK seat or a better rank. Pay the college fee only through the official portal for your allotted seat.

What Is Confirmed and What Is Not

ItemStatus
180 questions, 180 minutes, +1 and no negative markingReported by Careers360 and Scaler
2026 exam on May 9, result on May 29Reported by Careers360, with answer-key dates from Indian Express and NDTV search summaries
2027 datesNot announced
SyllabusNot released. Careers360 expects Class 11 and 12 Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics
EligibilitySources differ (see below). Check the 2027 brochure
Official 2026 brochure and fee PDFsI could not open the PDFs, so I used Careers360's tables of them

Eligibility: sources differ

SourceWhat it says
Careers360 qualifying marks45% for General, 40% for SC, ST and Others
COMEDK counselling notification (search summary)The relaxation from 45% to 40% applies only to Karnataka candidates
Careers360 COMEDK 2027 pagePhysics, Chemistry and Mathematics plus a third subject from a list that includes Biology, Biotechnology, Computer Science and Electronics

These do not agree on who gets the 40% relaxation. The COMEDK notification wording is more specific, but I only saw it as a snippet. Read the eligibility clause in the 2027 brochure before you assume you qualify.

Pattern and Marking

SubjectQuestionsMarks
Physics6060
Chemistry6060
Mathematics6060
Total180180

That is exactly 1 minute per question over 180 minutes, or 60 minutes per subject if you split time evenly.

A conflict on the maximum score

Scaler gives the exam as out of 180, which matches the 180 questions at +1 each. One Careers360 FAQ talks of scoring "100 to 110 out of 200". A paper of 180 one-mark questions cannot give a score out of 200, so treat that line as an error.

What no negative marking changes

SituationEffect
Wrong answerNo marks lost
Blank answerNo marks gained
Guess with a 25% chanceExpected gain, never a loss

Leave nothing blank. As an illustration, if you guess 20 questions at 25%, the expected gain is 5 marks (20 x 0.25). One caution: Careers360 lists the first tie-break rule as the fewest incorrect answers in Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics. Guessing adds to your wrong-answer count, which can matter only if two candidates tie on score. That is my reading of the rule, and the effect is small next to the guaranteed gain.

Tie-break order

StepRule (Careers360 and PW Live agree on this order)
1Fewer incorrect answers in Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics
2Higher combined score in Physics and Mathematics
3Higher score in Mathematics
4Older candidate

Careers360's FAQ lists the same rules in a different order. Use the order in its main list and in PW Live, and confirm it in the brochure.

Score to rank: I could not find a reliable table

Careers360's FAQ says a rank under 2,000 needs 100 to 110, and also says 130 marks gives a rank of 2,500 to 5,000. Those two lines contradict each other, since a higher score cannot give a worse rank. I have not used either. Use the rank card and previous-year papers to judge yourself, and do not rely on a score-to-rank chart from an unnamed source.

The Timeline: 2026 as a Guide

Event2026 date
Brochure notifiedFebruary 3, 2026
ExamMay 9, 2026
Provisional answer keyMay 16, 2026, with objections open until May 18 at 2 pm
Final answer keyMay 23, 2026
Result and rank cardMay 29, 2026
Round 1 seat allotmentJuly 28, 2026
Round 2 allotmentAugust 7, 2026
Round 3 allotmentAugust 18, 2026
Round 4 allotmentSeptember 1, 2026

From the exam on May 9 to Round 1 allotment on July 28 is 80 days, which I counted. The key dates come from Careers360, Indian Express and NDTV. Expect a similar pattern in 2027, and your Karnataka PUC or other board exams will end well before the result.

COMEDK's notice list for 2025 includes postponed shifts at a few centres. So keep a gap in your calendar after your slot is announced.

How many students sit the exam

YearRegisteredAppeared
202396,60777,232
20241,18,0051,03,799
20251,31,9371,13,111
20261,29,643About 1.1 lakh

From these figures I worked out that the number who appeared rose 34.4% from 2023 to 2024 and 9.0% from 2024 to 2025. Registrations fell 1.7% from 2025 to 2026. Careers360 gives the 2026 appeared figure only as "1.1 lakhs".

Practice any chapter on Padhaao

AI tutor for CBSE, ICSE & 15 state boards · 10 learning modes · 3 free chapters daily

Try it free

Counselling: Four Rounds

PointDetail (Careers360)
RoundsFour, plus a mock round. A separate round for supplementary-exam passers after the regular rounds
Counselling registration feeRs 2,000
Options on an allotmentAccept and Freeze, Accept and Upgrade, Reject and Upgrade, Reject and Withdraw
Round 4 ruleIf you held an Upgrade status and are allotted a seat in Round 4, only Accept and Freeze is offered, and you must report
If you do not joinCareers360's September 2026 report says you forfeit the tuition and other fees paid at COMEDK level, and may owe a penalty of five times the fee under the counselling rules
Reject and Upgrade, no Round 4 seatYou leave counselling and get a refund of the total fee paid

Read the penalty rule before you accept a seat you do not plan to take. It comes from a news report on the rules, so check the exact wording in the 2027 counselling notice.

2026 Closing Ranks, Round by Round

These are General Merit closing ranks from Careers360's cutoff page. The page does not state the quota in each table, so treat them as indicative. Lower numbers are harder.

RV College of Engineering, Bengaluru

BranchRound 1Round 3Round 4
Computer Science and Engineering228418510
CSE (Cyber Security)412657852
Electronics and Communication5388281,027
Electrical and Electronics8141,2271,557
Mechanical2,7423,6045,222
Civil6,20910,19912,737

BMS College of Engineering, Bengaluru

BranchRound 1Round 3Round 4
Computer Science and Engineering2,1573,2684,328
CSE (Data Science)2,2803,4554,552
AI and Machine Learning2,7213,9845,191
Electronics and Communication2,7264,0965,369
Mechanical4,5757,26910,215
Civil13,59021,55029,969

Ramaiah Institute of Technology, Round 1 only (the page's Round 2 figures for this college also look inconsistent, so I did not use them)

BranchRound 1
Computer Science and Engineering688
CSE (AI and ML)893
Information Science1,441
Electronics and Communication1,502
Mechanical5,459
Civil13,282

What the rounds show

From Round 1 to Round 4, I worked out that the closing rank roughly doubled:

College and branchRound 4 divided by Round 1
RVCE Computer Science2.24 times
RVCE Electronics and Communication1.91 times
BMSCE Computer Science2.01 times
BMSCE Civil2.21 times

An illustration using the table: a rank of 3,000 missed BMSCE Computer Science in Round 1 (2,157) but was inside the Round 3 closing rank (3,268). Cutoffs are not fixed, so the round in which you can take a seat matters. Whether you can use that depends on your Upgrade choices, so read the round rules above.

Data problems I found

ProblemWhat I did
The Round 2 table gives RVCE Computer Science as 1,516 and BMSCE Computer Science as 12,919, but Round 3 shows 418 and 3,268Closing ranks should rise from round to round, not fall, so I left Round 2 out. It may be for a different quota, and the page does not say
BMSCE Chemical shows 11,027 in both Round 1 and Round 2Possible copy slip. I left the Chemical rows out of the tables
Branch names differ between rounds (for example "AI and ML" in Round 1 and "AI" in Rounds 3 and 4)I left those rows out
One Careers360 list for 2025 gives RVCE CSE as 307, MSRIT as 875 and BMSCE as 2,323. PW Live gives RVCE CSE as 406, 434, 692 in Rounds 1 to 3, MSRIT as 1,358 to 1,667, and BMSCE as 1,319 to 5,312The two do not match, so I do not draw a year-on-year trend

Beyond the top colleges: 2025 Computer Science, round not stated

Careers360's 2025 list gives these closing ranks. The list does not name the round, and its top-college numbers conflict with PW Live, so use it only to see roughly how far ranks stretch.

CollegeCSE closing rank
Dayananda Sagar College of Engineering3,609
Siddaganga Institute of Technology10,358
CMR Institute of Technology12,617
Sir M. Visvesvaraya Institute of Technology12,885
PES College of Engineering, Mandya14,833
JSS Academy of Technical Education19,158
KLE Technological University41,970

Vacant seats in 2026

StageVacant seats
After Round 18,454 (5,668 General Merit and 2,786 Kalyana Karnataka Region)
Before Round 4, across 151 colleges17,815
After Round 416,855

After Round 4, Careers360 lists these vacancies by branch: Computer Science 4,411, Electronics and Communication 2,566, Mechanical 1,245, Civil 969 and AI and Data Science 476. Computer Science therefore holds about 26.2% of all vacancies (4,411 of 16,855, my calculation).

A vacancy count is not an open door. Seats go in rank order, and the closing ranks above show the top colleges still filled by rank.

Fees: The Part Most Guides Skip

The caps for 2026

ItemAmount
Tuition fee upper limit, Slab 1Rs 3,02,000
Tuition fee upper limit, Slab 2Rs 2,15,000
Other fees at counsellingRs 20,000
Skill laboratory fee, where chargedRs 10,000, Rs 15,000 or up to Rs 20,000 per student per year
University fee examplesReva University Rs 28,000 for some courses

Careers360's college table shows totals of Rs 3,22,000 and Rs 2,35,000 at many colleges. Those equal the caps plus Rs 20,000 (3,02,000 + 20,000 and 2,15,000 + 20,000). That suggests the table totals include the other fees, but the source does not say so directly.

Sample 2026 fees from Careers360's table

College and branchFee in the 2026 table
BMS College of Engineering, Computer ScienceRs 3,22,000
Dayananda Sagar College of Engineering, Computer ScienceRs 3,22,000
Acharya Institute of Technology, Computer ScienceRs 3,22,000
Atria Institute of Technology, Computer ScienceRs 2,35,000
Atria Institute of Technology, CivilRs 1,20,000
Akash Institute of Engineering and Technology, Computer ScienceRs 1,50,000
Akash Institute of Engineering and Technology, MechanicalRs 75,000
Brindavan College of Engineering, CivilRs 50,000

Fees differ by branch within one college. At Atria, Civil costs Rs 1,15,000 less per year than Computer Science, which comes to Rs 4,60,000 over four years (my calculation).

Four-year cost: calculated

Annual feeOver four years
Rs 3,22,000Rs 12,88,000
Rs 2,35,000Rs 9,40,000
Rs 2,15,000Rs 8,60,000
Rs 1,20,000Rs 4,80,000
Rs 75,000Rs 3,00,000
Rs 50,000Rs 2,00,000

These figures multiply the 2026 annual fee by four. They leave out hostel, food, travel, skill-lab fees and any yearly increase. The highest fee in the sample is about 6.4 times the lowest (3,22,000 divided by 50,000).

Fees change

For Acharya Institute's Computer Science seat, Careers360's tables show Rs 2,61,477 in 2024, Rs 3,01,100 in 2025 and Rs 3,22,000 in 2026. That is a rise of 23.1% over two years (my calculation). Careers360 has two tables labelled 2025 that disagree (one repeats the 2026 figures and has a typo), so I used the other one. Plan for a possible rise by the time you join in 2027.

Careers360's FAQ says there is no fee concession through COMEDK for any candidate, whether from Karnataka or another state.

Is COMEDK Worth It? A Decision Check

I cannot tell you if it is worth it, because that depends on your rank, budget and options. I also have not verified placement data for these colleges, so I do not rank them on placements. Use these checks:

QuestionWhy it matters
What is my likely rank band, from mocks?The closing ranks above show which colleges are realistic
What is the four-year total, not just year one?A Rs 3.22 lakh seat is Rs 12.88 lakh over four years before hostel and other costs
Would a cheaper branch or college in the same city do?Fees can differ by Rs 1.15 lakh a year inside one college
Do I have another route?See the entrance exams in our hub post before you commit
Can I stay for four years?Leaving after paying can cost the fees you paid, per the reported rule

COMEDK is a separate exam from KCET and uses a separate registration, so you apply to each on its own. Check that dates do not clash once published. Our KCET 2027 guide covers the state quota route. For other options after boards, see BITSAT 2027 and the JEE Main 2027 preparation guide.

A Preparation Plan

COMEDK is likely about six months away. This is my suggested plan, not an official one.

PhaseTimingFocus
1Now to PUC examsCover Class 11 and 12 PCM in your PUC order. Do 30 to 40 MCQs a day
2PUC exam periodKeep one hour a day on timed MCQs. Board marks come first
3After PUC examsChapter-wise tests, then three full 180-minute papers a week
4Final 3 weeksPast papers, formula revision, and a pacing drill of 60 questions in 60 minutes per subject

Habits for a no-negative paper

HabitWhy
Attempt every questionThere is no penalty, so a blank earns nothing
First pass on sure answers, then guessProtects time for solvable questions
Practise 60 questions in 60 minutesMatches the average pace of 1 minute a question
Track wrong answers by causeConcept, calculation or reading mistakes need different fixes

Your PUC chapters likely overlap with the entrance syllabus, but check the official syllabus once it is out. See our Karnataka PUC Maths weightage and the Karnataka JEE and NEET plan with PUC.

Frequently Asked Questions

Has COMEDK UGET 2027 been announced?

Not as of October 28, 2026. Careers360 lists every 2027 date as to be announced. The 2026 brochure was notified on February 3 and the exam was on May 9, so February and May 2027 are reasonable expectations, not confirmed dates.

What is the COMEDK exam pattern and is there negative marking?

The test is a 3-hour computer-based exam with 180 MCQs, 60 each in Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics. Each correct answer earns 1 mark. There is no negative marking, so attempt every question.

What rank was needed for Computer Science at RVCE and BMSCE in 2026?

According to Careers360, the General Merit closing rank for Computer Science in Round 4 was 510 at RV College of Engineering and 4,328 at BMS College of Engineering. In Round 1 it was 228 and 2,157. Closing ranks roughly doubled across the rounds.

How much are COMEDK college fees?

The 2026 tuition caps were Rs 3,02,000 and Rs 2,15,000, with Rs 20,000 in other fees. Many top colleges show Rs 3,22,000 a year, which is Rs 12,88,000 over four years by my calculation. Some colleges charge much less, such as Rs 50,000 for Civil at Brindavan College.

Is COMEDK worth it?

It depends on your rank, budget and alternatives. Compare the four-year total, not only the first-year fee, and check your options in other exams first. I have not verified placement figures, so I have not made a placement-based comparison.

What if I accept a seat and do not join?

Careers360's September 2026 report says you forfeit the tuition and other fees paid at COMEDK level and may owe a penalty of five times the fee under the counselling rules. Check the exact wording in the 2027 notice before you accept.

Can I get an engineering seat with a rank beyond 20,000?

Seats stayed vacant in 2026: 16,855 after Round 4. Careers360's 2025 list shows Computer Science closing ranks from about 3,600 to 41,970 at different colleges. Which college and branch you can reach depends on the round and quota, so use the official cutoff PDFs after each round.

Related Guides

Sources


Start Learning for Free →

₹21/mo (annual plan)

Padhaao covers 17,000+ chapters across 17 boards

Your exact syllabus. 10 learning modes. 3 free daily. Pro for unlimited - ₹21/month (annual plan).

See Pro Plans

Share this article

Want the full chapter with solved examples?

10 learning modes. Board-specific content. 3 free chapters every day.

Try it free